Leonardo Da Vinci – Moving Inventions

The New Special Exhibition from 5 May


Leonardo Da Vinci was a polymath! Discover the trail of his unrestrained exploratory spirit! The exhibition contains more than 20 of his great inventions, which you can grasp and experience vividly!


Fun House
MU9_spiegelkabinett_300To play with your reflection and multiply yourself infinitely was one of Leonardo`s typical portrayals. You could nearly hear his laughter. In his drawings of the fun house a peephole can be spotted. Due to the different angles through the peephole completely new perceptions are revealed.


Leonardo drafts the airscrew between 1480 and 1490. It is supposed to be operated by four men, who actuate a rotatable mechanism that moves the fabric covered screw. Leonardo assumes that with enough speed the construction would twist into the air. Unfortunately with human power not enough speed can be achieved to make the construction work.


Measuring Vehicle
FA2_messwagen_300Leonardo drew at least three measuring vehicles. That shows us that tools for measuring are of great importance when it comes to creating maps. Especially for military purposes Leonardo´s maps are very useful. Due to the high gear ratio of the vehicle`s worm gear it must have been supposed to capture long distances.


Slewing Crane
After it turned out that Leonardo has “borrowed” the crane from Brunelleschi it was not clear anymore who of the two really invented the crane. But the complex roller bearing and especially the ratchet on the rope winch are clear indicators for Leonardo`s work.


Joint Wings
FW5_gelenkflügel_300Numerous studies of birds built the fundament of this invention. With his construction Leonardo wants to copy the movement of flying birds. Whereas, the pilots` head and upper body are fixed in the construction, with his legs he can activate the inner wings so they move up and down and with his arms he can coordinate the outside wings.


It can be assumed that this lift was developed when Leonardo was building his constructions and didn`t want to tediously climb up the high scaffolds. Due to the high gear ratio of the tool`s worm gear he was able to decrease the effort. And through the self- locking effect safety was increased.





This exhibition is open until the end of October 2017. It is a project of the faculty of "engineering and mathematics" of the university of applied sciences in Bielefeld.

Infos for Teachers

>>Click here for downloading the exploration track<<

>> Click here to see the workshops<<

>>Click here for the Leonardo Da Vinci competition<<

Leonardo Da Vinci – Bewegende Erfindungen

Die Neue Sonderausstellung ab 05. Mai

Messen|Befördern|Bewegen

Leonardo Da Vinci war ein Universalgenie! Begib dich auf die Spuren seines unbändigen Entdeckergeistes! Die Ausstellung beinhaltet über 20 seiner Erfindungen, die du begreifen und hautnah erleben kannst!

 

Highlights

Spiegelkabinett
MU9_spiegelkabinett_300Mit dem Spiegelbild spielen, sich vervielfältigen bis ins Unendliche – eine typische Leonardo-Darstellung. Man könnte ihn hier fast lachen hören. In seiner Zeichnung des Spiegelkabinetts ist ein Guckloch zu erkennen, durch das sich wegen der anderen Winkel und Perspektiven völlig andere Wahrnehmungen ergeben.

 

FW4_luftschraube_300
Luftschraube
Leonardo entwirft die Luftschraube zwischen 1480 und 1490. Sie soll von vier Männern über einen drehbaren Mechanismus angetrieben werden, der die mit Stoff bespannte Schraube in Drehung versetzt. Leonardo nimmt an, dass sich bei ausreichender Drehgeschwindigkeit die Konstruktion in die Luft ›schrauben‹ würde. Es ist jedoch nicht möglich durch menschliche Muskelkraft eine solche Geschwindigkeit zu erreichen.

 

Messwagen
FA2_messwagen_300Dass Leonardo gleich – mindestens – drei Messfahrzeuge gezeichnet hat, weist auf deren Bedeutung im Zusammenhang mit der Erstellung von Stadtplänen und Landkarten hin. Gerade für militärische Einsätze erweisen sich Leonardos Karten von unschätzbarem Wert. Wegen der hohen Übersetzung des Schneckengetriebes könnte dieser Messwagen für die Erfassung großer Entfernungen gedacht gewesen sein.

 

HF9_drehkran_300Drehkran
Nachdem sich erst später herausstellte, dass Leonardo den Verladekran von Brunelleschi ›entliehen‹ hatte, könnten Zweifel an der Urheberschaft Leonardos angebracht werden. Aber die komplexe Rollenlagerung und insbesondere die Sperrklinke an der Seilwinde sind deutliche Kennzeichen Leonardos.

 

Gelenkflügel
FW5_gelenkflügel_300Zahlreiche Studien von fliegenden Vögeln bilden die Grundlage dieser Erfindung. Die Konstruktion soll die Flugbewegung eines Vogels nachbilden. Der Pilot ist mit  Oberkörper und Kopf fest eingespannt und kann so zwei Bewegungen einleiten: mit den Beinpedalen die Auf- und Ab-Bewegung der Innenflügel und – geschickt koordiniert – mit den Armen seitlich drückend die der Außenflügel.

 

HF6_aufzug_300Aufzug
Es ist zu vermuten, dass dieser Selbstaufzug im Rahmen von Leonardos Bautätigkeiten entstand, um das mühselige Klettern auf hohe Baugerüste zu erleichtern. Durch die hohe Übersetzung des Schneckengetriebes wird der Kraftaufwand verringert und durch die Selbsthemmung wird zudem die Sicherheit erhöht.

 

 

 

 

Die Ausstellung läuft bis Ende Oktober 2017. Sie ist ein Projekt des Fachbereichs „Ingenieurwissenschaften und Mathematik“ der Fachhochschule Bielefeld.