Numbers and facts

Space

Permanent exhibition, roof-deck included: 3,000 sqm
Special exhibition: 500 sqm
Event spaces (modular): 750 sqm
Total area: 6,200 sqm

Planning

OÖ Science-Center Wels Einrichtungs-GmbH
(Main proprietor: Holding Wels GmbH and Engerie AG. Further proprietors: Raiffeisenlandesbank and Sparkasse OÖ)

Building-owner: OÖ Science-Center Wels Einrichtungs-GmbH

Operator

Welios Betriebs-GmbH

CPetri & Tiemann GmbH from Bremen, supported by a commission of experts from different areas like pedagogy, physics, renewable energy and ecologyoncept developement

Petri & Tiemann GmbH from Bremen, supported by a commission of experts from different areas like pedagogy, physics, renewable energy and ecology

Building

The white-metallically gleaming cube symbolises an urban platform in the transient area between the city centre and the fair ground. Light lines stretch over the building and point to the main focus of Austria’s first Science Centre: renewable energy and energy efficiency.

The modern low-energy building stands for the city’s sustainability. This energy-bunch, so-called form the architects archinauten / dworschak + mühbachler architekten, with the open front enables an insight into the Welios.

Investments

The City Wels, the State of Upper Austria, Raiffeisenlandesbank OÖ and Sparkasse OÖ invested around 22 million Euros into this project. Further support has been carried out by the Science Centre’s booster clubs.

Core catchment area

2 hours from the place of residence
45 minutes from the vacation resort

Opening

16th of April 2016

Logo

The logo was created by the agency “Gruppe am Park” (Collective agency: Buchegger, Denoth, Feichtner and Haslinger Keck). The logo symbolises five different forms of renewable energy which can be counted on one hand and Welios’ principles “Seeing and Touching” or rather “Experience with all five senses”. The colour green stands for the sustainability.

Zahlen und Fakten

Flächen

Dauerausstellung inkl. Dachterrasse: 3.000 m²
Sonderausstellung: 500 m²
Veranstaltungsflächen (modular): 750 m²
Gesamtfläche: ca. 6.200 m²

Planung

OÖ Science-Center Wels Errichtungs-GmbH (Hauptgesellschafter: Holding Wels GmbH und Energie AG. Weitere Gesellschafter: Raiffeisenlandesbank und Sparkasse OÖ)

Bauherrin: OÖ Science-Center Wels Errichtungs-GmbH

Betreiber

Welios Betriebs-GmbH

Konzeptentwicklung

Petri & Tiemann GmbH aus Bremen, unterstützt von einer ExpertInnenkommission aus den Bereichen Pädagogik, Physik, erneuerbare Energien und Umwelt.

Gebäude

Ein weißmetallisch schimmernder Kubus bildet eine urbane Drehscheibe im Übergangsbereich zwischen Innenstadt und Messegelände. Linien aus Licht ziehen sich über die Bauskulptur und verweisen schon von weitem sichtbar auf den inhaltlichen Schwerpunkt des ersten Science Centers Österreichs: erneuerbare Energie und Energieeffizienz.

Der moderne Baukörper wurde in Niedrigenergiebauweise errichtet und steht für die Zukunftsfähigkeit der Stadt. Dieses Energiebündel, wie es die Architekten archinauten / dworschak + mühlbachler architekten aus Linz nennen, ermöglicht mit den tief aufgespaltenen Fassaden einen Blick in das Innenleben des Welios®, der viel verspricht.

Investitionen

Rund 22 Mio. Euro, getragen v.a. von den Hauptinvestoren Stadt Wels und Land OÖ und den Gesellschaftern Raiffeisenlandesbank OÖ und Sparkasse OÖ. Weitere Unterstützung erfolgt durch den Förderverein Science Center Wels.

Kerneinzugsgebiet

Bis zu zwei Stunden Fahrzeit vom Wohn- oder Schulort sowie bis zu 45 Minuten von einem etwaigen Urlaubsort.

Eröffnung

  1. April 2011

Logo

Entworfen von der Kommunikationsagentur „Gruppe am Park“ (Agenturgemeinschaft Buchegger, Denoth, Feichtner sowie Haslinger Keck). Es symbolisiert die fünf Arten der erneuerbaren Energien, die sich an einer Hand abzählen lassen, sowie die Grundsätze des Welios® „Sehen und Be-Greifen“ bzw. „Erleben mit allen fünf Sinnen“. Mit der Farbe Grün wird die Nachhaltigkeit des Themas unterstrichen.